Transit Connect 2010+ Ford Transit Connect

New to TC, many questions!

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2016, 04:29 PM
cohomology
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to TC, many questions!

Hi everyone, I am new to the TC scene and just got a '15 van with ~60k miles on the clock. I am in the process of doing a tune-up, which I've only been partially successful so far. I had quite a few "gotcha" moments already and hope you guys can help me out.

1. How to change the transmission filter? Do you have to pull the tranny in order to do it?

2. Where is the fuel filter? And what replacement should I buy?

3. I had someone to put the car in gear when parked and found the motor to move quite a bit. So I guess the engine mount and tranny mount are worn out and I plan to replace them all. However, I am not sure how many mounts does this '15 TC have. Rockauto has DEA A5631 and Anchor 3304 as the motor mount, do I need them both? WRT the tranny mount, rockauto has DEA A5520, A5612 and Anchor 3238, should I get them all?

Thanks for looking!

Old 09-09-2016, 09:04 PM
Frantz
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Welcome and congrats! I will start by saying it seems you're a bit early on several of you changes and just curious if there is a reason other than an abundance of caution.

First, I would look at another and determine if "quite a bit" is normal before swapping motor mounts.

Fuel filter should probably be motorcraft. IDK for sure, but Ford is known for making patented filters, that the aftermarket doesn't quiet match. For the old 7.3 trucks for example, you have to swap the cap to use aftermarket ones. Some may be just as good, but the Ford ones are known to be good. Not sure where it is off the top of my head.

Transimission filter is far too early to be changing... unless you have issues.

I feel like the only regular issue I ever see with these has been wheel hubs around 100k. I wouldn't go messing up factory stuff unless needed!

Old 09-10-2016, 09:36 PM