Duraspark And Hei Distributor

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2016, 11:37 PM
OrdoDraconis
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Duraspark And Hei Distributor

so my current setup is non feedback carb with tfi distributor. For obvious reasons this needs to be fix. do price comparisons and parts for the the DS2 conversion are upwards of 250 thats with a no-tax commercial account. but HEI distributors are about 139 on amazon. is there pro's and con's going with the HEI over the DS2 or is a matter of price. just trying to find answers. also curious about peoples experience with HEI.

BTW. the vehicle im working on is 1984 f150 300 Inline six

Old 08-02-2016, 10:26 AM
AbandonedBronco
Received 80 Likes on 73 Posts
Hello Neighbor.

The HEI is probably going to be your easiest option, since it's a simple 1 wire hookup. I really like the HEI setup I have on mine. It's been great.

However, I have no experience with the new lower cost HEI distributors that are coming out for the 300. I got mine from PerformanceDistributors and they're about $400. But, they hand build them with high quality components. The lesser cost ones are made in China most likely.

Granted, most of the DuraSpark II conversion stuff is probably coming from China too, unless you buy the higher end stuff.

Quality aside though, I've had both the DSII and HEI and like them both. But, the HEI is just such a nice, wrapped up package that it gets my vote. Plus, replacement parts, like ignition modules, coils, etc. seem to be a tad cheaper since their generic GM parts used in dozens of models of vehicles.

The HEI sometimes gets some flak due to how it's affected by heat, but that's not really a problem with our engines since it's no where near the manifolds.

Old 08-02-2016, 10:38 AM
F-250 restorer
Lead Driver
Received 137 Likes on 117 Posts