Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Introduction, and some questions.

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2016, 03:11 PM
Oldanvilyoungsmith
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Introduction, and some questions.

First I've gotta introduce myself, I've been on this forum awhile, but not over here in the powerstroke area.

My name is Stephen, and I'm a machinist, welder, and blacksmith. While I know my way around an engine somewhat, I'm definitely not a mechanic, and much more used to my older I6 engine than these big ole diesels.

Just last week I picked up a 2000 F250. It's a 7.3 PowerStroke (obviously).

It's got 448K on the odometer, but starts and runs beautifully. I had my mechanic check it over a couple days ago, and he told me that it seems solid overall. A couple small oil leaks, but nothing more than you'd expect for that mileage.

As far as he could tell the engine had never been removed, and I can't find any rebuild records in the Ford service history or CarFax, so I assume the engine has never been rebuilt. I can't tell if the transmission has been rebuilt or not, but I'd honestly be surprised if it'd made it this long without.

I grew up with my dad having a 99 F350, so I've been around the powerstroke plenty, but never done much work on it myself, and he'd never really worked on so I'm rather new to it still.

Now, onto the questions.

#1 - Gauge Cluster illumination and signal lights.