1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help!! Oil not draining, overfilled, not driving??

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2016, 11:25 PM
ryansalay
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help!! Oil not draining, overfilled, not driving??

Hello All,

I've got a problem with my truck that I can't seem to figure out what the problem is.. A little background. I have a 2000 F250 Superduty with 170k, well maintained from day 1, 2 owners, never had any major problems, runs great!

So today I changed the oil (engine was warm/hot) and rotated the tires, I've worked on a fair share of vehicles and I work in the maintenance/engineering field for 20+ years, so not my first rodeo... I removed the oil drain plug and let it drain while I put the front on jack stands and the rear up on the floor jack, just enough to get the tires barley off the ground. Oil drained fine, it drained almost exactly 6 quarts. I removed the filter and replace it with a high mileage filter and replaced the drain plug, I added 5 quarts of 5/30 High mileage oil and a bottle of slick 50 high mileage (holds 6 quarts), checked the dipstick and I was OVERFILLED by a couple quarts...??? Confused I went to move my truck so I could deal with it tomorrow morning, I was beat since I did this after work. However when I went to move the truck it wouldn't go into gear, then slipped in and out of gear, enough to move it a few feet. The engine sounds fine, slightly rough sound starting after the oil change, but still okay/fine. I shut it down and went to drain the pan out a bit. I pulled the plug and it drained slowly and then I wasn't able to drain more than a quart when it stopped draining completely, dipstick still reading overfilled by a couple quarts... I turned the engine over a few times too to see if that would help the draining, which it did at first but not again... I've left the drain plug off overnight