1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Color over epoxy primer?

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2016, 07:51 PM
avf100
Fleet Mechanic
Received 400 Likes on 188 Posts
I'm a beginner at this bodywork,primer,paint stuff, but from what i have read, is that there is a window of time that you can apply paint over sealer/primer without sanding. after that time has elapsed, the sealer needs to be sanded or scuffed for the paint to adhere properly.

Old 07-20-2016, 08:10 PM
56panelford
FTE Legend
Received 4,132 Likes on 2,656 Posts
When you buy your paint they should give you the data sheet with it and all the information is on it...

Old 07-23-2016, 06:03 PM
underthebridgejim
FTE fan
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
I have a question about buffing in the 1 1/2" recesses of the tail gate. I have had good results on the raised panels using "Uni Grit" 1,000, 1,200, 1,500, 2,000 and 3,000, followed by 3M #1, #2, #3 on waffle foams for buffing. I only have a few small areas on the panels that need a little more attention. I stopped close to the edges until I know the best way to get a buffer into the recessed areas of the gate which have a lot of orange peel . The smallest pads I can find on the market are 2", so I could either make a small one, leave it as is, or use the buffing wheel shown in the pic below. Any opinions thoughts or experience.. As you know its acrylic enamel with hardener but is behaving good as far as the sanding goes, it's just the buffing I don't want to open a can of worms by sanding and then not being abel to bring the shine back up. I didn't start a new thread as it seems several other members are also working with paint and have questions. Thank you.

Attached Images    
Old 07-23-2016, 06:45 PM
CharlieLed
Lead Driver
Received 467 Likes on 303 Posts