1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Need advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2016, 12:17 PM
maverick600
Laughing Gas
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Need advice

Hi guys,

I am new to the bullnose section but not to FTE so I am coming here for advice.... I purchased a 86 F150 Lariat with EFI 5.0 and C6. Rats or whatever had made a home in the airbox and on top of the intake. The whole top of the intake is covered in straw as well as inside the airbox. They also must have been hungry cause they ate all kinds of wires, mainly the wires to the injectors and the harness but also to some other things that I am not sure what they are yet. The fuel rail looks in horrible shape, as far as I can tell the high pressure fuel pump is not working and I can not hear either one of the low pressure pumps in the tanks. I have not gotten that far in diagnosing what and why they dont work yet. I have not had much luck in finding schematics yet but still searching but what I am wondering is with the state the truck is in right now and since it does have a C6 would I be better off just going with a carb, mechanical fuel pump, and duraspark ignition than trying to salvage what I have now. Most of my experience is pre- efi so all this is a little new to me so please any advice will be helpful and also where to start looking for the fuel system to work.

Old 06-25-2016, 12:42 PM
Gary Lewis
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
I have the schematics, and a lot more, on my web site here:But, I would be inclined to convert it to a carb if the wiring is that bad. However, I'd find a donor truck before I made the decision. You might find a donor EFI truck or you might find a donor carb'd truck. But, whichever way you go you are highly likely to need wiring harnesses from another truck.

Old 06-25-2016, 12:52 PM
maverick600
Laughing Gas