Anyone Slapped On Some POR15?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2016, 03:27 PM
sum_weirdo
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anyone Slapped On Some POR15?

I've been lax with bodywork on this truck. At first because it wouldn't fit in the garage, and later because I didn't have a garage. That and I'm not good with bodywork to begin with

Anyway I've been inspired to try and arrest the rust that's slowly claiming the truck. I don't have much money at the moment, nor a place to work on it, so I'm hoping to just patch it with POR15 and come back to it later.

Question is can I just throw some black POR15 on it and leave it un-coated? What will happen to it if I do? The truck isn't painted a stock color, and I'm not paying to get some mixed up custom right now. It'd probably look half-assed if I tried. So how will the POR15 look after the sun gets at it?

Edit: Only painting spots, not the whole truck with it.

Old 06-16-2016, 04:34 PM
blackbearford
New User
I'm in exactly the same situation. Did a real half-*** paint job to my 86' last week - my first. Need to sand it and do over - slowly; In smaller sections. But I'm also looking to invest in the POR-15 or Chassis Saver which I've seen and like. I understand it will fade badly like primer will in direct sun exposure and quickly. Not sure if it becomes less effective but you could hit it with Rustoleum as a top-coat after. Note from Auto Paint store "Stay away from Rustoleum - unless it's made for Automotive use then.. maybe". The catalyst action of proper paint can lift from incompatible products. Test first.

Old 06-16-2016, 07:33 PM
sum_weirdo
Tuned
Starting to think I could try Eastwood Rust Encapsulator, which also sounds like a good product. Available as aerosol.

And they also have an aerosol frame coating with a host attachment for getting into cavities. Because that's something else I need, I've got rust inside the hollow between body panels and I didn't know what to do with it.

Old 06-16-2016, 07:52 PM