6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

Need the facts about fuel dilution of lube oil

Old 06-14-2016, 11:01 PM
KodiakF250
More Turbo
Received 71 Likes on 48 Posts
Need the facts about fuel dilution of lube oil

I don't post a bunch on here, but I have been coming on here a lot more since buying my 2014 F350. I've done thread searches and read what's out there about the lube oil getting fuel dilution. Problem is I find one group talks about getting an oil analysis, and then the other says it's not needed. And I also read strong opinions about just how much fuel dilution is acceptable while others say it's doom and gloom. Wow!

Here's my situation. After buying the truck, I checked the oil level for a while to make sure it wasn't burning oil, and then I didn't check it as often. Then last Wed I checked the oil level before taking the truck in to have front driver's side weak spring replaced and a section of leaking exhaust pipe replaced. Much to my surprise the oil was up onto the cable! Dealership wasn't concerned, but I changed the oil Sat & put in some Motorcraft 15w-40 just to hedge my viscosity a little since I anticipate the possibility of more dilution. (I realize this doesn't resolve the dilution of the oil's additives.) Used oil came out very thin, and I pulled out 14-1/2 quarts. By volume, that's about 10% fuel to oil. Truck has about 4,000 miles since last oil change by the dealership that I bought it from.