Rough idle on fresh rebuilt motor, Im lost. - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Older, Classic & Antique Trucks > 1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks

1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Dentsides Ford Truck

Rough idle on fresh rebuilt motor, Im lost.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-14-2016, 07:10 PM
New User

djc1978 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Rough idle on fresh rebuilt motor, Im lost.

So long story short I just got my 302 completely rebuilt and now Im trying to get the truck to run. I am by no means a mechanic and am just learning as I go but here's what's happening. I changed literally everything in the engine compartment short of wiring. New holley street avenger 2 bbl, new dist, coil, plugs, wires, ect. I also blocked off the EGR valve ( if that could make a difference) I cannot get the truck to idle smoothly and the carb wants to either backfire or fall flat on its face. I timed it to 10* BTDC and then adjusted back and forth with the dist to get the highest vacuum, however the highest it gets is about 15". Any adjustment from there makes the truck idle even worse. Any idea on where to go from here? I also have tested for exhaust leaks and found nothing. The carb was working fine before the engine was rebuilt, only about a month old at that time. Thanks for any input.
DJ
Old 06-14-2016, 10:06 PM
Elder User

4x4slik is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Check for vacuum leaks. Also, tuning is a lot of separate adjustments. Adjust your timing to it's best performance, then adjust your carb to it's best performance, then retry timing, then retry carb, etc.
06 Chevy 1500 WT
Old 06-15-2016, 12:49 AM
Elder User

OldMetal is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
I would be thinking vacum leak as well...
Old 06-15-2016, 12:57 AM
Elder User

EP145 is starting off with a positive reputation.