Removing rear case for welding

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2016, 09:46 PM
Doug Morford
5th Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Removing rear case for welding

I've broken the rear case on my transmission, and the plan is to have it welded (unless someone can recommend something better). Links to pictures are below. The transmission is off a 92 f250 diesel, and is a zf-s5-42 4x4. The guy doing the welding would like to have the rear case removed for ease of access, and he's also concerned about burning up the rear oil seal.

So I have a few questions, because I'm new to this. Also, here's a link to the factory manual regarding the transmission assembly/disassembly.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByG...ew?usp=sharing

1st, I plan to place the bell housing on the floor and remove the rear case instead of the way described in the manual (taking the front case off to expose the gearing). If I do this, should I still remove the detent springs from the front case, or am I fine leaving them in place since I'm not removing the gears from the front case?

2nd, I obviously need to remove the rear seal once I have the rear case off, but is there anything else that might get fried if not removed? For example, the bearing races or the shift rail bearing?

Thanks for the help in advance, and please mention anything I might be overlooking.

Doug

Old 06-12-2016, 03:02 PM
Doug Morford
5th Wheeling
I'll just post what I'm doing as I go.

You can't just take off the rear case, because the shift interlock is bolted to the rear case from the inside. My new plan is to remove the detent springs, remove reverse idler gear retaining screw, remove the interlock plate, then remove the front case.