1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Custom Magnum Headache Rack "Build"

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2016, 10:12 AM
NorEasterMA
Posting Guru
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Custom Magnum Headache Rack "Build"

Hey everyone,

I've been running a Back Rack on my truck for a few years now, and decided it was time to upgrade. I've fabricated custom headache racks before, but this time I want to go with an aluminum rack and I don't have the means to weld aluminum, so I called up Magnum MFG. I've dealt with them before and have one of their racks on the company truck, so I know the quality is there and I like the overall design.

Since I'll be working with Magnum on designing a custom rack to suit my needs, I figured I'd document it on here for anyone interested. I put the term "build" in quotations because I'm not doing the actual fabrication here, Magnum is, but I'm working closely with them to design all the details and mounts specific to me.

It'll be a basic Low Pro rack with integrated stop/turn/tail lights in it. We're also adding integrated mounting systems and plug/play wiring harnesses into it for my LED Arrow stick, LED flood lights, and antennas. Additionally, special reposition able tie-down hooks will be mounted on the feet. So far I've sketched out a few design concepts and rendered one "concept drawing", which have been sent to the gentleman at Magnum I've been working with. I'll post those below and keep updated. So far we've been going back and forth for about a week and a half, and at this time we're working on the CADD drawings for the production rack.

Here's a sketch outlining my mount concept for the arrow stick. The bar has a T-Track in the rear allowing for surface mounting, so a boxed area with slotted holes in the back will be fabricated for the arrow stick to slide into and flush mount with the rack.