1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

New here, looking at a '73 step van

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2016, 02:25 PM
moroza
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New here, looking at a '73 step van

Howdy!

I'm a mechanic at an import-only shop, learned on BMW and Toyota, don't know much about domestic trucks, but between reading and experiencing, have the impression that Fords are a bit better-made and more comfortable than the other two who shall remain nameless...

Anyway, I've been searching for a step van or box truck. Right now I'm looking at a '73 Ford stepvan with a P40 VIN, a 300 six, and a 4-speed stick. I've been internet-researching for a couple of days, not finding much, hoping someone here can enlighten me with specific information and general opinions.

General opinions? Comparison to Chevy P30 and others? Seems they're easier to work on than an Econoline, with a bigger doghouse, not as easy as a truck... does that sound right?

Seems that Ford stepvans are based on the Econoline chassis. But Wikipedia says the pre-75 E-series are unibody, so how does that work with an aluminum aftermarket body (Grumman, probably)?

Seller says it has a solid axle... I assume he does not mean twin-I-beam. Is that typical for a 73 E-series, or does that make this some medium-duty oddball?

My long-term plans - call them cliched if you will - involve a diesel first, 4wd eventually. No pretenses of rock crawling or bug-out nonsense, I just want traction for snow/ice. Any idea how much fab work I'd have to do to fit a front driveline, either a twin-beam or a solid axle (I'm undecided)?

As for a diesel... I know the 4BT is everybody's favorite these days. What about a 7.3 IDI - will it fit nicely? How about a 6BT? Also, I've heard mention of a "4-cylinder Ford diesel" in some of these, but can't find anything about them. What is that engine?

Old 05-02-2016, 08:14 AM
jimandnena
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post