Modular V10 (6.8l)  

Firmer brakes after a few miles?

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2016, 11:52 PM
truckfella
Elder User
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Firmer brakes after a few miles?

In the past few weeks, I've noticed that my brake pedal is quite a bit softer first thing in the morning vs. after I've driven it, say, 15-20 minutes. Once I have a few miles on it, the pedal is much firmer and the pedal travel decreases also.

At first, I just kinda thought my groggy head in the mornings was playing tricks on me. But I'm now convinced this is a real phenomenon.

I thoroughly flushed/replaced the fluid about 6 months ago, the pads at all 4 corners are in good shape, and I have a new master cylinder about 4 months old. I've noticed this effect in ambient temps of 0-10'F and also up to 60'F.

If there was a problem with any part of the braking system, I would think just the opposite would be true here -- the brake pedal would become softer after a few miles. But maybe I'm way off here.

Anyone have any ideas? What gives?

Old 02-25-2016, 08:16 AM
krewat
Site Administrator
Received 298 Likes on 157 Posts
I bet the caliper slide pins are beginning to stick - could be any one of them too...

What happens is the caliper won't slide, so the outboard pad isn't really being pressed against the outer side of the rotor. The caliper pushes the inboard pad against the rotor, which may or may not flex enough to meet up with the outboard pad. After you get some heat in them, the slide pins start to move again.

Grease 'em up

On the other hand, the ABS unit might actually be leaking slightly internally - either way, take it out in a dirt lot or even an empty parking lot, and slam on the brakes hard enough to get the ABS going - that'll free up the slide pins, and make sure the fluid in the ABS unit gets circulated ...

Last edited by krewat; 02-25-2016 at 10:25 AM. Reason: inner/outer, same thing, right? :)
Old 02-28-2016, 05:29 PM
truckfella
Elder User
Originally Posted by Krewat