1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Oil Bypass Filter setup selection or DIY for Excursion?

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2016, 04:18 PM
ExPACamper
Post Fiend
Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
Originally Posted by scotttahoe
I found this on oreily but seemed to be on the expensive side. I think you can find them around 30 bucks I'll have to check out Grainger but I know their proud of their high prices also.

WIX 24750 - Filter Mounting Base | O'Reilly Auto Parts

I am no filter expert what so ever, but this is a bypass filter at 5 micron. I think it would work fine but when it comes to types of oil and filters I start to get lost.

Wix 51749 & Napa 1749 Oil Filter: FleetFilter Secure Store - Wix, Fram, Baldwin, Luberfiner

Might be time to start adding all this up so we can get a total.

Two things to add to the mix.

1. 3 microns or lower is what you want for oil bypass filtering

2. A bypass filter base or bypass filter has a very small pinhole compared to the regular filters.

Old 02-21-2016, 05:02 PM
SARDiverDan
Cargo Master
Received 415 Likes on 237 Posts
Here is the kit I use. Go to the bottom of the page and look at the Ford 7.3 standard bypass oil filtration kit.....195.00

Ford 6.0, 6.4 and 7.3 Oil Bypass Systems and Billet Aluminum Filter Caps

I change my oil every 15k and the bypass filter every other oil change. They claim the bypass filter is good for 60k but I just do it at 30k.

Old 02-21-2016, 05:32 PM
ExPACamper
Post Fiend
Originally Posted by SARDiverDan
Here is the kit I use. Go to the bottom of the page and look at the Ford 7.3 standard bypass oil filtration kit.....195.00

Ford 6.0, 6.4 and 7.3 Oil Bypass Systems and Billet Aluminum Filter Caps

I change my oil every 15k and the bypass filter every other oil change. They claim the bypass filter is good for 60k but I just do it at 30k.
I like the looks of the NUC kit.

What filter do they use and about how much are they?

Old 02-21-2016, 05:53 PM