1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Welding 101

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2016, 09:29 AM
F-1
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Welding 101

Can anyone suggest a suitable budget conscious welding machine for small sheet metal body work on '48 F1?

I see them 120v and 220v machines..Mig/Flux??

I also see pricey acetylene models..overkill?

I'm a first time DIY welder and have come to the realization that after weeks of prep work ( Youtube Auto body college) there are some lower fender areas that need new sheet metal.

Also..all of my fenders, truck bed, hood, running boards & doors are off the truck. I keep wondering which finish paint approach makes the most sense..
finish paint while they're

off the truck or after installation.
Painting after installation minimizes damage to the finish but prevents full coverage..what do you guys think. Thanks

Old 01-27-2016, 09:37 AM
EffieTrucker
Phantom of the Phorum

Received 859 Likes on 458 Posts
I think Ax makes some recommendations in his tutorial thread:

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...-practice.html

I'm a VERY amateur welder. After my old mig was stolen, I bought an Eastwood Mig 135, and leased a bottle of Argon. I've been pretty happy with it so far. (1.5 years)

Old 01-27-2016, 09:48 AM
Connecticut Calvin
Laughing Gas
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
For what it's worth I did all of my welding with a Northern Flux Core Mig and everything worked just fine. My wife bought it for my for Christmas in 2014. I think he paid maybe $120 or so. I see Northern no longer sells their own branded welders. But honestly this one below is pretty much identical to my own and it has great reviews. I'd buy it without hesitation. Perfectly suitable for your needs.

Ironton Flux Core 125 Flux-Core Welder - 115V, 125 Amps | MIG Flux Core Welders| Northern Tool + Equipment