6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Winter fuel additive?

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2015, 08:17 PM
Highway Pilot
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Winter fuel additive?

Howdy all,
I have a quick question, im new to the diesel world and will be traveling from South Florida to southwest Virginia in late December.

I have a 204 F250 6.0 and use Archoil in oil and fuel. What if any additional fuel additive should I use? Ive read about diesel gelling i cold weather?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 12-15-2015, 09:35 PM
04badford
Lead Driver
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Welcome to FTE, most areas already have the winter mix ( fuel gel additive) in there Diesel , but when in doubt Diesel kleen white bottle , about 4 oz per fill up, make sure you drain your water separator every oil change and or fuel filter change. Happy Trails and be safe out there.

Old 12-15-2015, 09:43 PM
white Buffalo
Post Fiend
Like you said in your post - What you want to be careful of is traveling with non-winterized diesel fuel from the South to the North. I know of a few folks that traveled from Florida to areas up north and have gelled up during the winter. John (ExPACamper) had it happen when he bought his Excursion in Florida and drove it up to Pennsylvania in the winter. It happens but you can easily prevent it.

The diesel fuel you fill up with in Florida will not meet the same winterization specifications as the fuel in Virginia.

Here is how it works: