Sponsored by: Moser

really disappointed - service charge

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2015, 09:23 AM
folwtruck
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy really disappointed - service charge

2012 F150 5.0 STX Had my check engine light coming on intermittently, and then a "check fuel filler inlet" message came on with each startup. Took it to dealer, diagnosed canister vent valve and pigtail needed replacing. Was given an estimate just short of $500. I did some research (I admit up front that a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing) and found that the valve itself can be purchased for $30+/-; did not price the pigtail. Also saw a video of the actual replacement, and the part is easily accessible and it did not appear to be a difficult procedure (I am NOT a mechanic in any sense of the word). I made the assumption that the estimate was one of those over-estimates, in case the process ends up being more complicated on an individual vehicle (like the time I got an estimate of $400 to replace the spark plugs on a Corolla; ended up coming in under $150). But no, when they did the service, it came in as estimated, with ~$70 for the solenoid assembly, ~$50 for the pigtail, and $320 for labor (truck was in at 8am, back on the road at 9:30am), $48 haz mat. Is there a way that this can be justified? I really like my dealership, the service people have taken good care of me for *years* (like, 17 years with my 7.3 PSD, in a small town with few diesel mechanics). I am not angry (yet ... ) just discourage and disappointed that it has come to this. Would much rather hear that there is some good reason for this service to be so bloody expensive. (sorry for the run-on paragraph, the wp on this site does not seem to agree with my laptop)

Old 11-24-2015, 10:49 AM
FordService
Official Ford Rep
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by folwtruck