1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

What "Truism's have been revealed in your Gear-head Journey?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2015, 08:28 PM
Gertie-The '49 F2
More Turbo
Received 14 Likes on 1 Post
Always check to see that the drain plug is back in.

Goes into the same category has Wayne's suggestion.

Old 11-07-2015, 08:40 PM
topmoo
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Organization is the key, and the one thing that is really hard for me. Having my truck in my wood shop (cabinets and furniture in my wood shop is what I do for a living) makes it very difficult to keep the truck tools and supplies organized. Not to mention time management.
Trying to keep up with what I have purchased but not installed has been difficult. I actually bought three different sets of hood bolts (twice I forgot that I had already) and then didn't use any since I reversed the hood. That is just one sample, I have done it with other parts too, some much more expensive

Old 11-08-2015, 09:16 AM
4tl8ford
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'll finish the brakes after running it up the block
Never enough cheater bars
The gloves you bought to protect your hands work better when worn
When you get one of those scratches that peel back the skin, don't use grease to stop the bleeding
Always make sure the little hole in the paint can sprayer is pointed in the right direction
When you get rid of your wife you really do have more money and time

All the above I learned from other people

Old 11-08-2015, 10:03 AM
Gertie-The '49 F2
More Turbo
Received 14 Likes on 1 Post
1. Keep a log of all the work you perform on your truck, so that you don't forget what has been done, and then needlessly do it again.

2. You will forget to write down what you have done, and needlessly do it again at some point.

3. Keep a list of all those parts you buy for your truck, but will install at a later date.