Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

How to determine if I have a strong engine?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2015, 01:07 PM
dtgl90vt
Elder User
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
How to determine if I have a strong engine?

Hello all,

So I have been cracking away at my truck for a few months now making improvements, but I am getting to the point where I am going to start sinking money into the engine because shes not the most reliable (hard starting, smokey, alittle sluggish/possibly underpowered, never trusted her enough to push her).

So my question is, I am thinking new injectors, injector pump, new fuel lines. My plan is to stay with the truck either way, whether I need to swap engines or not cause shes got a good body/frame. But what do I have to do before I decide to sink any money into the engine to decide if its worth the effort or if I just get a 7.3 and rebuild?

A side note, I also would like to swap in a junk yard turbo off a late model.

Thoughts?

Thanks Again,
Devin

Old 10-06-2015, 01:24 PM
madMatador78
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I would do a compression test to see where the engine is at internally.

I'm not sure what the numbers should be for an IDI (Only have done one on a powerstroke), but I know you don't want any more than 15%-20% difference between your cylinders.

The best thing to do is pull out all the glow plugs, and test 1 cyl at a time. Cranking 15-30 seconds at a time, then record your numbers. You will use the glow plug port for your testing. If you have any low numbers, it would indicate wear inside.

Have a battery charger hooked up to keep your batteries up. Also unhook the 12V at the pump to prevent any unwanted starting.

Last edited by madMatador78; 10-06-2015 at 01:27 PM. Reason: added information
Old 10-06-2015, 01:29 PM
IDIoit
Fleet Mechanic
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
the cheap side....
do a leak down test on it.