1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gotta change all 4 ball joints, any hints?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2015, 06:59 PM
varminthunter243
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Gotta change all 4 ball joints, any hints?

All 4 ball joints are bad on my rig. Gonna change em myself. I've never done it before so as you would expect, lots of questions. Any helpful hints? Tricks? To be honest I really would like someone to tell me it's possible without pulling the unit bearing, axle, rotor and caliper etc...... I will also be doing tie rod ends, drag link, basically EVERYTHING that could be leading my tires to cup and keep an alignment shop from doing an alignment. 4 shops have already told me everything is too screwed up to even attempt an alignment. Thanks in advance guys.

Old 09-18-2015, 08:37 PM
davester250
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
doing all 4, I would suggest either borrowing the right pressing tools for doing them or buying them [as I've tried local parts places that claim to loan tools, but they never have (as in, don't loan out, only sell) the tools I need to fix my truck. you can get them out with a bunch of effort without the right tools, but it just goes so much easier [relative to not having the right tools, as it's not always easy even with the right tools].

And I have no idea what other parts you need to remove to do the job. You probably should specify model/year/drivetrain you have to get info about that.

Old 09-18-2015, 08:51 PM
varminthunter243
Senior User
It should all be in my signature I thought...... 2003 F350 cclb 4x4

Old 09-18-2015, 09:35 PM
Hotrod70d
Senior User
Changed mine on my 01. It was a project. Since I was in there I replaced the u joints ,seals ,brake shields, etc..and every other thing in there wasn't goin back in . So think about that also. Used a ball joint tool from harbor freight. Worked good.