1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

E-350 5.4L Engine questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2015, 11:18 PM
NickC1012
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E-350 5.4L Engine questions

Found someone selling a semi modified e-350 for outdoor use. After talking to him for awhile i found he took good general care of the vehicle and it has 167k miles and is a 2003. He told me it was mostly road miles and nothing off road. He added 267/75/R16 tires and new sparks and coil on plug all around. I want the van because it'll fit my wife and i's outdoor traveling life. so i want to know if we can get at least another 100k out of it, obviously with regular maintenance, or if for 10k$ its worth it or not. Im not a mechanic or car expert so i come here humbly for your advice and guidance, internet.

Thanks, Nic

Old 09-16-2015, 12:04 AM
YoGeorge
Logistics Pro
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Welcome to the van forum, Nic.

We've got a member named delgriffith who runs a fleet of Ford Vans doing continuous passenger transport. He's got 3(?) vans with 5.4's at 1.3 million miles each. There are a lot of folks here with 200k+ miles on 5.4 engines as well, so they will go pretty darn far if cared for well.

One concern is blown out spark plugs but there are helicoil type repair kits that can be used if you strip out the threads. An '03 would have the earlier PI heads without a lot of threads in them. (Something like 4 aluminum threads--kind of a silly design.) When you change the plugs, use recommended torque values and hints you will find on this page. There is a lot on the Internet about blown out plugs but there are a LOT of these engines in use.