Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator 1991-1994, 1995-2001, 2002-2005, 2006-2010 Ford Explorer

'04 Explorer v6 Recurring Engine Failsafe Mode P2106

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2015, 11:43 PM
americanbuckeye
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'04 Explorer v6 Recurring Engine Failsafe Mode P2106

Hello all. First you should know that I have little to no mechanical knowledge/aptitude but I catch on pretty quickly

So my Explorer is a 2004 Eddie Bauer v-6 with about 93K miles, great condition, very clean and never had any issues. I've had it about 6yrs.

For maybe 3-4 years now the truck has seemingly randomly gone into Engine Failsafe Mode in the message center. I haven't noticed any pattern here as to when/why this occurs. The wrench icon lights up as well as the Service Engine Soon light. Sometimes I seem to notice a change in power/performance but often I don't. There are times when this happens every few days, and sometimes it goes weeks without occurring. Often it just goes out of Failsafe Mode after I've turned the truck off and restarted and seems fine again. For all of these years this has been a nuisance more than anything and so I assumed(hoped) it was just a sensor issue and nothing to be worried with.