Old 08-03-2015, 12:30 AM
joelowwatt
Trailering
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Broken Rocker shaft on a 390

#4 exhaust valve

#4 exhaust rocker

Hi guys,
Just figured out how to make a new thread sorry I'm a noob here.

Here's the situation: I had a new 390 built for the 72 f250 C6 2WD CS Been runnin great no trouble. I drive 2.5 miles to work in it and around town to get supplies so mostly city driving. The other day I was coming up to a stop light and it started missing real bad so I checked it out and #4 was dead. I took the valve cover off and the valves were moving and it was getting spark. Vac guage was reading low and jumping around from 9 to 11 in Hg at idle. Full vac on throttle shutdown was around 18 in Hg. normally about 23 in Hg. Did some reading and figured it must be a burnt valve. Mind you this motor has about 2000 mi on it. So I'm driving it back to the barn to continue investigating the issue and she gets about 2 blocks from the house and starts cackling and raising all kinds of hell. Remove valve cover and the #4 rocker and shaft fall on the floor. WTF over? Push rod is bent and come to find out the double valve springs had the outside heavy spring broken( wish I would have caught that) Tore it down popped off the head and the valve is not bent as far as I can tell. This motor is new. Would a broken valve spring cause all that? Is this a warranty issue ? I think so. It was properly broke in and ran like a stripped *** ape till it took a dump. My builder is in Redding and I'm in San Francisco so getting it back to him to fix is out of the question. Is there any thing else I should look for as the cause or just suck it up and put in a new rocker shaft, valve spring, push rod and drive it up there and shove it up his bum. Sorry but I'm a little more than pissed right now seeing as this clown took a year and a half to build the damn thing, overcharged me 500.00 cause he can't keep his paperwork straight, then he painted it black, on a 72 WTF again.