WWYD 1957 F100

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2015, 12:36 PM
BigMasterCheese
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
WWYD 1957 F100

What Would You Do?!

So let me be the first to admit I am a rookie and pretty clueless when it comes to what it takes to do a quality restore. To be totally honest I never thought I would own a Ford (don't hate) but just something about this truck made me have to go for it. So I have a solid 1957 Classic Cab with a rebuilt 352 Interceptor and rebuilt automatic transmission. The interior is probably the roughest thing about this truck. So here is my question (or questions).
I know all or a lot of these questions have been addressed and beat to death but my hope it to get different opinions, ideas, and most of all specific resources for someone who is new to the game.

Laundry list:
#1 This truck has been off the road for 8 years... what would you do first?
#2 The front end is pretty interesting, it has a reversed tension road which you can easily lower and raise. I like were the front sits but the tires rub when turning. What wheels and tires (size) should I look at?
#3 I want to bring the back end down as well. What is the less expensive and invasive method you would recommend?
#4 I want to get a new steering column, what has been successful for you and where do I get it?
#5 Same for gauges, what has worked for you and where do you recommend buying?
#6 How far would you take this truck apart if it was your restore?
#7 Does anybody have much experience with the 352?

I know most of these questions would be subjective and I will get answers all over the spectrum but that is what I am looking for. I want to know what other
people would do before deciding how to proceed. Mainly it would be great to have some resources. Parts, ideas, how-to's and what not.

Again, I apologize for the ignorance but maybe this will help some future newbie as well.

Old 07-21-2015, 07:25 PM
Danleig
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post