Sponsored by: Moser

High Coolant Temp and Vapor Lock

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2015, 11:30 PM
orangeford
Laughing Gas
Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts
High Coolant Temp and Vapor Lock

I am trying to decide what to to next to resolve my high coolant temperature problems.

It has been hitting 105 F around here lately and my coolant temperatures are getting up to 220 to 230 F.

I have a 79 f150 4x4 3.50 gears and 35" tires, c6 trans with oem tranny cooler. I have a 3 row super cooling radiator that is about 13 years old and it is free of obstructions inside and out. The factory AC condenser is fairly new and clean. I have a standard 180 degree thermostat and edelbrock water pump. Radiator cap is rated for 13 psi. Coolant mix is rated for 255 F according to tester. I have the correct fan shroud with a mechanical fan and severe duty thermal clutch and it will hold a piece of paper against the grill at idle. I have checked my air fuel ratio with a wide band gauge and have concluded I am not running lean. The leanest I get is at cruise at about 35 mph where i am at 1500 rpm and a AFR of 15. On flat roads at 75 mph I get as high as 15 again. Also checked timing, running 12 deg initial and 36 total in at 4000 rpm without vacuum advance. With vacuum advance hooked up(full manifold 15" at idle) I am getting 12 degrees initial and 38 at 4000 rpm.