E4OD beef up vs. 5 Speed conversion

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2015, 08:43 AM
Buck Dharma Fan
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
E4OD beef up vs. 5 Speed conversion

Hi All,
looking ahead to some planned upgrades to my truck. I'm curious about the cost of an E4OD rebuild and improvements vs. the cost of a 5 speed conversion. This will not be a DIY job. I'm a B- mechanic with 2 jobs. I need my truck up and running in reasonable time. This will be done by a shop. Anyone have an idea of costs ? I've considered a new truck but at $ 70 k, I'll rebuild mine and buy a new camper ( or vacation cabin).

Old 06-10-2015, 09:17 AM
oldbird1965
Fleet Owner

Received 125 Likes on 103 Posts
I burned up two E40D's so I spent $5,200 on a John Woods. No problems now!

Old 06-10-2015, 11:57 AM
Buck Dharma Fan
Senior User
Originally Posted by oldbird1965
I burned up two E40D's so I spent $5,200 on a John Woods. No problems now!
Thanks Glenn, I figured $4000 plus for the E4OD. A John woods $ 5200. How 'bout a 5 speed swap, any idea of cost?

Old 06-10-2015, 12:00 PM
oldbird1965
Fleet Owner

I don't know about a 5 speed swap. John Woods has a trans for less then I paid but I wanted the heavy tow one.

Old 06-10-2015, 12:04 PM
fordman67
Hotshot
Received 397 Likes on 268 Posts
Save some cash.check diesel site on that trans.great price AND warranty.
That's going to be the route I go.
I have called and talked and had more questions and called again and they are very friendly knowledgeable people. They have my vote though I have not got their product...yet.

Old 06-10-2015, 12:24 PM
sean23johnson
More Turbo
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts