1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rebuild Or Swap out motor??

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2015, 12:25 AM
AxeDigger
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Rebuild Or Swap out motor??

my 6.0 is toast in cylinder 2 and 6 as some may know so is some injectors 271k Miles on this 6.0 2006 of hard pulling and hard farm use but looks brand new still.

Not bad considering many 6.0 folks talk bad and have had bad luck and I get the grunt of this to lol

Anyhow im wondering since the Cylinders have no compression would it be better to just dump the motor instead of any port and work done to this motor?

I found a motor with 30kmiles for $5500 so im thinking about getting this it has a 3 year warranty on it as well.(This might last another 9 years)

Im going to do some calling around tomorrow and see what I come up with.

So im new to the truck stuff the last few weeks I have learned a lot mainly how to lose my *** on big boy toys lol

Got a good deal on the truck and I see why but now I want to do it my way.

I have seen Cummings swaps and those look spendy and don't see much gain in what this one had anyhow.

But im open to options and learning what to do im up in the air on

Old 06-08-2015, 12:51 AM
Tylus
MMNC (SS)(Ret)

Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts
I would swap the motor and keep enjoying the truck.

the 6.0 is a motor that many experienced engine builders avoid. she ain't exactly friendly for rebuilds

I loved my old 6.0 and would buy another one. sounds like you got some good use out of your current setup, especially as a farm truck

Old 06-08-2015, 01:54 AM
AxeDigger
Senior User
Originally Posted by Tylus
I would swap the motor and keep enjoying the truck.

the 6.0 is a motor that many experienced engine builders avoid. she ain't exactly friendly for rebuilds