Transit Connect 2010+ Ford Transit Connect

Width + Height = Plus Size

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2015, 05:13 PM
2LostInTransit
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Width + Height = Plus Size

I didn't see an official wheel and tire thread, so I though I'd post my findings for all transit Connect owners who want a bit more out of their wheels & tires.

Here's my findings:

I’ve been researching tire sizes for the last 4 months and this morning, because I’m still unsure as to what tire will fit on the 775′ and still have clearance in the TransCon’s wheel well. I’ve been using sites like TireRack, Discount Tire, CariD and many others just to see what they list as acceptable allowances for wheel and tire sizes.

I’ve concluded that all of these wheel and tire sites are not on the same page.. each one list their own version of what they feel will fit the Transit Connect. But one thing I’ve learn, is that each site has their own allowance which I use in conjunction with other sites.. meaning once site list X as being allowed.. while another site doesn’t. No wonder we all have trouble finding out what size tire and wheels we can have on our vehicles.. Because each site is tell us something different.

Tip: Even though tire sites list the tires measurement, often when tires are molded they can loose their size and shape based on that molds run. If a site list a tire as 26′’ height.. the tire could be more or less than what is listed. because the rubber/compound can expand and contract during the molding process.

But I’ve narrowed down our selections.. Using the 17x8 775′s Rockstar as the wheels.. Discount tire has a short list of allowable tires that fit this wheel.. and this helped us find our tires. It appears that the maximum allowable height of 26′’ inches on any wheel, but is very close, even too close for our comfort. The maximum wheel width is 8′’ again this is based on measurement gain from all those sites.

Another great site is: rimsntires.com