4.9L intake manifolds

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2015, 10:28 AM
HoustonDave
Fleet Mechanic
Received 63 Likes on 50 Posts
I think we're all on the same sheet of music.... changing the curve or gear to a more compatible material is OK, changing the actual gear ratio to the cam is, kinda like stealing Jobu's rum, "A bad thing. It's VERA bad thing!"

Old 06-11-2015, 05:59 PM
RickCHodgin
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by AbandonedBronco
If so, I'd never heard that before. I've read of quite a few who convert their EFI engines to carb and all they do is drop in a carb'd distributor and I've never heard of issues.
Doesn't mean it isn't true though! Just hadn't heard that.
This is what I heard. They suggested using the gear that came with the EFI engine because the diameter was slightly different and it would be a more proper fit. I have no experience with it though, just from reading that one post with the advice. :-)

I have the engine ready to take the head and oil pan off now to check it over. I'm not going to build it up for performance, but I just want to make sure the bearings aren't showing any significant wear, and that the head looks good. The spark plugs all looked good so that's a good sign.

I should be able to order the intake in two weeks, and the carburetor after that (am planning on getting a 1978 or earlier). Would I want to get any particular type of distributor? Get one for a pre-1979 or something? Or is one of the mid-80s okay? Am I right in understanding that I'll have to get a Duraspark module and hook it up somehow? Is it self-contained? What would be required?

Thank you to everybody who is responding. :-)

Best regards,
Rick C. Hodgin

Old 06-17-2015, 11:31 AM
RickCHodgin
Freshman User
In the meantime I've sold a 1986 Honda Civic Wagovan 4WD. A 22 yr old young man wanted to buy it and restore it to original body-wise, and drop a higher performance engine in the car. Very interesting speaking with him.