1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with suspension - 2011 F-250

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2015, 01:33 PM
PokerMunkee
Senior User
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Help with suspension - 2011 F-250

I'm a total newb and overwhelmed at all the options for these trucks. I've searched and read about every thread and now more confused.

I just bought a 2011 F-250 CC SB 6.2 FX4. 190K miles. It has Rancho shocks, which I believe are still original LOL. The truck has a very rough and bouncy drive. Steering wheel is a little off centered. I've driven a 2004 F-250 6.0L FX4 and it also rides like crap, but it too has factory rancho shocks. So I really have nothing else to compare to.

Got a quote from 4 Wheel Parts to put in new Bilstein level kit #F4-SE5-C765-H0 (shocks and springs w/ 2" front lift), and Bilstein 5100 shocks in rear. I believe the rear included a spacer, but not sure. Alignment. $960 out the door. $360 in labor, $80 for alighnment. Rest for Bilstein parts. Not unreasonable.

I am going to tow a 7500# Travel Trailer. I will have a weight distribution hitch. I don't want it sagging, hate the look for a sagging rear end! Should I put in air bags?

I just measured fenders to the ground, rear end is just under 1" higher. Looks level to the eye. Front is 39 3/4" and rear is 40 3/4".

My options are the following:

1. Keep ride height same. Replace shocks with new Bilstein 5100 on each corner. Replace steering damper with Bilstein. Do I need to replace stock springs at 190K miles or are they fine?

2. Put in 2" Bilstein level kit and Bilstein 5100 shocks front/rear. and get rear to not sag somehow.

I'm leaning towards not lifting and getting the largest 18" wheel/tire I can fit without rubbing and get a much better look. Replace shocks with Bilstein 5100s on each corner and the steering damper. Should I leave factory springs in the front?