Sponsored by:

Free thread monthly pruning

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2015, 10:18 AM
hav24wheel
FTE Chapter Leader

Received 96 Likes on 78 Posts
Originally Posted by BigBlueX
Looking for a set of rear factory F350 3.75" AKA "4" lift blocks.
I've got a set of strait ones. No tapper.

Old 03-04-2015, 11:05 AM
EXv10
Post Fiend
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Originally Posted by hav24wheel
Ya funny, being the 10.25 was first used in a Ford pickup in1985. Had a tone ring from day 1 if I remember right.
They didn't have tone rings anywhere when I was a mechanic.

Old 03-04-2015, 02:25 PM
justonv
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by ExploringNH
He is putting in lower gears so it doesn't matter what gear ratio the open diff has, although it will most likely end up being 3.73. It will be cheaper to ship without the heavy ring gear on it anyway.

In addition to being cheaper to ship without your ring gear, you will probably be wanting it unless you are doing a gear swap yourself. You aren't supposed to mix and match ring and pinions because they are a matched set lapped together at the factory. Just thought I'd throw that out there, since no one else had mentioned it, in case you weren't aware. Don't want somebody coming up with a rear end rebuild expense they weren't prepared for...

Old 03-04-2015, 03:10 PM
hav24wheel
FTE Chapter Leader

Originally Posted by EXv10
Your aggument is null and void in this conversation about 10.25/10.5 rear axles. You must have never worked on anything in the last 30 years.

Old 03-04-2015, 04:01 PM
EXv10
Post Fiend
Originally Posted by justonv