1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

1986 F 150 Ford Lariat

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2015, 09:21 AM
chipanddaleshihtzus
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1986 F 150 Ford Lariat

HI GUYS , I WOULD LIKE SOME ADVICE.

I AM NOT A MECHANIC AND NEITHER IS MY HUSBAND, BUT HE KEEPS SAYING HE IS GOING TO FIX MY TRUCK. """""nAAAA .

ANYWAY ABOUT 5 YEARS AGO MY TRUCK STARTED TO IDLE HIGH , VERY HIGH, THE LOCAL GARAGE COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM.

MY HUSBAND THINKS IT'S THE WIRING HARNESS???

THAT WAS 5 YEARS AGO AND I MISS MY TRUCK.

I WANT TO GET IT BACK ON THE ROAD, BUT IT'S BEEN SITTING IN MY GARAGE FOR THE LAST 5 YEARS.

HOW DO I GO ABOUT AT LEAST STARTING IT, WITHOUT RUINING MY GREAT ORIGINAL ENGINE.

THEN I WILL DEAL WITH THE HIGH IDLE PROBLEM.

Old 05-22-2015, 09:56 AM
InfantryCPT
Senior User
a pic of the tag inside the driver door jamb would get us started, unless you know what engine it has in it. Also what does it do now when you turn the key? Of course with a charged battery

Old 05-22-2015, 10:31 AM
1986F150six
Lead Driver
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Welcome to the forum, chipanddaleshihtzus!

Please provide a little more engine information [size, carbureted or fuel injected, mileage, photos, etc.] and we will try to be of assistance.

Old 05-22-2015, 10:57 AM
chipanddaleshihtzus
New User
My F150 Ford Lariat.

1986 F-150 Ford Lariat