Bronco II Ford Bronco II

1988 Bronco II starting problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2015, 05:49 PM
DocRoche
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm a beginner, but you mentioned the battery possibly dying. How are your cables? Maybe there's a connection issue. When it was running did you notice anything dying? Like your radio or dash lights? Could it be an alternator? Like I said, I'm new. But I've had both a fuel pump and alternator die on me and the both start relatively the same.

Old 06-08-2015, 12:20 PM
tsytsa
New User
Actually no, my dash lights are all fine. The reason I think my battery is dying is that it barely turns over when I try to start it, but if I have my key in the "ON" position all the lights work and don't flicker or anything. When I charge the battery for a bit then it starts turning over. I think my battery started dying because I kept trying to start the truck but it wouldn't start, so after all that it started running out of juice.

Old 06-12-2015, 11:41 PM
pozner
Junior User
Mine was a 1990, so it may differ. I had a bad TFI module (that module attached to the distributor). I drove it to work fine, but when I got ready to go home, it would crank over fine, but just wouldn't start.
PITA to replace, but that cured the problem. I didn't have the start and stop problems you did, but if any others had that problem, please chime in.

BTW, keep your battery charged up.

Old 06-17-2015, 09:43 AM
tsytsa
New User