Industrial motor that has sat for 5 years

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2015, 08:15 PM
deerhuntertyler
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Industrial motor that has sat for 5 years

hello, My 78' f250 has a bad knock, and I have no experience rebuilding any 4 stroke engines, although I have rebuilt many 2 cycle chainsaws, snowmobiles and such.
But anyways, I found a rebuilt ford industrial 300 I6 that was kept for a spare and never used, but has been sitting for 5 years
Ford Inline 6 cylinder 300 motor engine fresh

that is the craigslist add. So my questions are,
-would this work in my truck?
-what should I expect after its been sitting for 5 years? dried up seals/gaskets? seized bearings possibly?
-anything different about industrial motors that aren't good in trucks?
-is $500 too much?

I appreciate any help with getting my baby running like a top again,
thanks.

Old 04-21-2015, 07:23 AM
Carloespo
Senior User
If I lived anywhere near Minneapolis it would be in the back of my truck before you read this post. I'm actually going to google map how far away it is now.

Old 04-21-2015, 07:26 AM
AbandonedBronco
Received 80 Likes on 73 Posts
Has it ever been fired up? If not, it's still going to need to be broken in.

I think it'd be a good deal. I'd definitely put new gaskets on it (which is not a big deal when the engine is out, and probably about $50 - $75 tops). Valve cover, oil pan, push rod cover, and timing cover. If/when you do the timing cover, look into upgrading the oil pan to an '88+ setup with the 1 piece gasket. Easy to do and well worth it.

I don't believe there'd be any reason it wouldn't turn over unless it's been left out in the rain. Just put a socket on the balancer and give it a turn to see if it moves freely.

Otherwise, it should bolt right in. I don't believe there were any differences between the two motors except for some emissions stuff.

For sitting for 5 years, I'd probably offer a little less than $500, but that's me.