Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Looking at a 1990 F350/7.3

Old 04-16-2015, 01:31 PM
hodge5
More Turbo
Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Looking at a 1990 F350/7.3

As the title states, I am looking at a 1990 F350 dump truck, with a 7.3idi, aftermarket turbo, with a 5 speed.
1990 F350 diesel dually dump truck

Thoughts? In conversing with the owner, who is a mechanic, it sounds like the truck is in good, workable shape, inspected and current, with the only issues being no A/C or cruise.
I am looking for helpful input on the 7.3idi. I've got some experience with the 7.3 PS, and I've owned a 94 Dodge/cummins. Anything unique to the idi to look for/ask about? What about the turbo? Is that a reliable setup?
I appreciate any input from your experiences.

Old 04-16-2015, 02:41 PM
IDIoit
Fleet Mechanic
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
check the coolant with SCA strips.
hypermax turbos arnt bad, kinda of a quirky set up, but they work well
if you have experience with the PSD, the IDI's are wayyyy simpler. no computer!
just fuel, heat, and compression.
the biggest thing people gripe about is air intrusion, which is easily fixed with some time and a little bit of cash.
just as a PSD, never use anything other than motorcraft parts.

i have a 94 7.3 with a OEM 093 turbo, 105 cc injection pump, and a matched set of injectors. EMPTY, i can hang with a stock tuned 02 7.3.
they are super fun compared to a PSD, IMO

Old 04-16-2015, 03:00 PM
MtTheJeffro
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
See, told ya

Old 04-16-2015, 04:20 PM
hodge5
More Turbo
Originally Posted by MtTheJeffro
See, told ya
When you're right, you're right.

Old 04-16-2015, 04:36 PM
Coutu
Senior User
For $6000 it has to be MINT IMO

Old 04-16-2015, 04:58 PM
hodge5
More Turbo
Originally Posted by Coutu
For $6000 it has to be MINT IMO
It's a dump truck, not a show truck. Mechanically solid with life left in it is how I am judging the value- either it is a money maker, or it isn't.