6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

08 f350 problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2015, 08:16 PM
addybeer
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
08 f350 problems

Well I have a problem with my truck I had oil coming out the tail pipe so I did my research again and came to the conclusion of get rid of everything so I have done the egr delete the cat delete and the dpf delete as well as installed a programmer. I ordered and I talked the turbo rebuild kit for the second time as I rebuilt them 6 months ago when the dpf sensor went and popped the turbo seals. My question is what would cause the oil to still come out of the pipe after rebuilding the turbos again? I am not an expert on turbos and don't think that the new seals would go again in minutes they do sounds fine as in I don't hear any noise from them.
Any help would be great as frustration is setting in.

Old 04-14-2015, 09:34 PM
langballs
Junior User
Are you for sure it's your turbos? There could have been some damage to piston rings from the first go around. What's the mileage on your truck?

Old 04-14-2015, 09:40 PM
addybeer
Freshman User
I would have to say it's the turbo as there is oil and major smoke coming out of the pipe

Old 04-14-2015, 09:58 PM
langballs
Junior User
Well I know shops around here shy away from rebuilding turbos for the reason you're dealing with. So many variables like worn housings, shafts or possible cracks on impeller or turbine.

But having said that a buddy of mine is getting me to rebuild his turbos so we'll see how well I make out with his. Just a kit off eBay

Old 04-14-2015, 10:24 PM
SANDDEMON08
Posting Guru

Originally Posted by addybeer