Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Super Duty/Heavy Duty > Excursion - King of SUVs
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion SPONSORED BY:

Psyclopse's "up from the ashes" build thread.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2015, 04:08 PM
Elder User

Psyclopse has a good reputation on FTE.Psyclopse has a good reputation on FTE.Psyclopse has a good reputation on FTE.
Psyclopse's "up from the ashes" build thread.

I figured I'd go ahead and make an official build thread for my 2000 Limited. It'll be easier for me to keep track of it.

DISCLAIMER- I'm a disabled Vet living on disability pay, so my build thread will move substantially SLOWER than the average build thread, since it'll take me longer to come up with money for stuff...

A little background on what I just drug home... I came across a Craigslist ad for a 2000 Limited, 4x4 with the V10 for only $1500. She fell victim to the dreaded cruise control switch fire. The previous owner happened to be outside with a water hose nearby when the fire broke out, so the damage really isn't that bad. He stuck the hose into the engine compartment through the driver side wheel well while he worked at getting the hood open.

I'm not sure how he managed to screw up the hood as bad as he did, but you really can't expect someone to be all that rational in a panic like that. The hood looks like someone was body-slammed across it. At any rate, he knocked the grille out with his bolt cutters to get to the hood catch, which he cut to get the hood open. Then, he used the bolt cutters to cut the battery cable to kill all the shorting and arcing. His fast thinking saved this Ex from completely burning to the ground.