1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Flathead fan issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2015, 12:40 PM
DocRoche
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Flathead fan issues

First nice day of the year, figured Id go out and see if i could get my fan mounted on my 1950 Ford F2. I purchased my fan on Ebay and it came complete with the mount. I was told the 1950 F2 had the 5/8 belt, so thats what I went with. But it appears that the mount is to wide for the grooves on the engine. I am very new to this so I may be doing something wrong. I got the parts disk but couldn't get a good pic. Posting a pic of my engine, shouldn't the fan mount evenly with the grooves below? If so am I needing a 3/8 model? I do not have a generator/alternator yet. Just thought thats where the fan should go, right below that threaded extension in the middle. Hope im making sense lol, thanks guys.

Old 04-02-2015, 12:45 PM
JPMallory
Laughing Gas

Received 105 Likes on 48 Posts
I believe you need the generator mount, and then the fan actually bolts on to that.

Old 04-02-2015, 12:48 PM
DocRoche
Senior User
Ok, I was hoping cause everyone I spoke to was pretty convinced the fan I got should work. Thanks!

Old 04-02-2015, 12:53 PM
JPMallory
Laughing Gas

If you don't have it, you are going to need a bolt and washer similar to this:

Flathead Generator Fan Mount Kit

The square washer is a pain, because you have to keep it straight while tightening down the generator bracket, otherwise the fan bracket won't fit.

Old 04-02-2015, 12:56 PM
DocRoche
Senior User
Would I need that if I went with the alternator? How many do I need?

Old 04-02-2015, 01:04 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 607 Likes on 377 Posts
Originally Posted by JPMallory

The square washer is a pain, because you have to keep it straight while tightening down the generator bracket, otherwise the fan bracket won't fit.