1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

DIY Paint Job

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2015, 12:36 PM
Coastal68
Fleet Mechanic
Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts
DIY Paint Job

I'm wanting to change the color of my truck from Pebble Beige to Holly Green and, because I'm a DIY kind of guy, I want to do the paint work. Back when I was building kitchen cabinets for a living I sprayed the finishes using a traditional paint gun and compressor, so I'm not exactly a noob. BUT, I have never painted a car. So, here goes:

I want to go ahead and invest in a compressor that will allow me to paint my truck. All my old paint guns are long gone. What should I buy? I want to use the compressor for other air tools including nail guns. Does that rule out HVLP guns?

As a point of departure, I found this gun:
Amazon.com: DeVilbiss 802343 Auto Painting/Priming Kit: Automotive Amazon.com: DeVilbiss 802343 Auto Painting/Priming Kit: Automotive

And this compressor (@ $500) promising an air delivery of 13.4 scfm at 40 psi : Kobalt 60-Gallon Air Compressor - Kobalt Tools

Any advise would be greatly appreciated. I'm looking to buy in the next couple of weeks.

Also, I live in the humid Southeast.

Old 04-01-2015, 02:58 PM
HIO Silver
Post Fiend
Received 58 Likes on 48 Posts
$500 for a 60-gallon compressor? That's really good. I'm gonna have to look into that.

Other items to consider: air/water separator or a dryer, auto-oiler, hoses, fittings (decide now because not all are the same), and a DA sander. I'd add a touch-up/jamb gun to the arsenal.

Old 04-01-2015, 03:05 PM
Coastal68
Fleet Mechanic
Originally Posted by HIO Silver
$500 for a 60-gallon compressor? That's really good. I'm gonna have to look into that.

Other items to consider: air/water separator or a dryer, auto-oiler, hoses, fittings (decide now because not all are the same), and a DA sander. I'd add a touch-up/jamb gun to the arsenal.
Thanks for the tips.