Sponsored by: Moser

Antifreeze leak

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2015, 07:30 PM
Ken's74
Junior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Antifreeze leak

I need a little help with a mystery leak. I have about 1,000 miles on a rebuilt engine. It had a small oil leak (about 2 drops every time I drive it) coming from the base of the oil filter adapter. I finally got the right angle to tighten the bolts and the oil leak seems to have gone away. Now I see some antifreeze collecting in the same spot. There is a little puddle of antifreeze on a flat surface next to the fuel pump and behind the oil filter adapter. I've attached pictures to show where I'm talking about. I also notice a stain running down the block on the front passenger side. It's a 360 rebuild (basically stock). I'm NOT a mechanic just a hobbyist. I'm trying to learn so thank you in advance for your help.

In this picture it looks oily, but it actually green in color.

You can barely see the lighted area behind the power steering pump and oil filter adapter. That is where the green puddle is sitting.

This is a shot of the flat area behind the oil filter adapter. There is a little pool of green antifreeze collected there.

Here's the fluid stain on the other side of the block.

Old 03-30-2015, 08:12 PM
Blue and White
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Anti-freeze leaks can be sneaky. The areas it collects may not be where its leaking. I'd look above the areas of your pictures for leaks or white "leak trails". Cylinder head joint and water neck/T stat hosing are good candidates.

Maybe drive it for a while to get it warm, hose it off carefully and watch for leak location while idling. Water from the hose will evaporate fast on a warm engine... anti freeze more slowly and it leaves a white trail.

Old 03-30-2015, 08:55 PM
HIO Silver
Post Fiend
Received 58 Likes on 48 Posts