1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Low oil pressure??

Old 03-20-2015, 05:42 PM
mos68x
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Low oil pressure??

Any one have any ideas what could be causing low oil pressure once the engine has warmed up? I'm thinking it's an oil pump, but I wanted to see if anyone else could come up with any other possible causes before I sprung for a new oil pump. The guy I bought the van (86 E350 351W) from on sunday said that he thinks it's 10W30 in the engine. The van hasn't been run on a routine basis since it had been parked at least 6 or 7 years ago.

I also have a over heating issue a well, but I wanted to address the oil issue first. I hope to get a 670 Street Avenger for it in the next few days to take care of the carburetor issue as well as a new distributor.

TIA

Old 03-20-2015, 06:45 PM
VannerDude
Senior User
I'm no mechanic but i would look at the oil itself to start. Have you checked level and how it looks? Viscosity thin or thick?).

Check the oil pick up in the pan would be next. Plugged? tube attached correctly?

High mileage worn out engine?

Not much help I know. But......

Old 03-20-2015, 08:25 PM
mos68x
Senior User
Already checked it, it was actually about a quart over. Needs a change but I wanted to get the pump before I changed it so I wasnt wasting a complete oil change.

Old 03-20-2015, 10:42 PM
mos68x
Senior User
Forgot to mention that the oil pressure is normal when the engine is cold, just drops when the engine comes up to normal temp

Old 03-20-2015, 11:15 PM
jimbbski
Elder User