Sponsored by: Moser

Dealing with a mechanic advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2015, 01:46 PM
samwill226
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dealing with a mechanic advice

Hey guys. I need some feedback on my situation. I am pretty frustrated, but not sure how to handle it. Short story, I have a '73 F100 with a '76 302. I wanted to put power brakes on the truck, and since I have no brake experience, I took a new booster AND bracket over to a local shop to get installed. The guys said he would get on it no problem. This was February 3rd. I drive by the shop every day and saw the truck not moved for a week. I didn't think much of it, and had actually bought some 1970 351 heads that same week and decided to stop in to see if they could clean them. They could and it was $40. I paid and was told, while they were doing the booster, they could save me the trouble and install the heads for me. I was then told that those heads wouldn't be as good as a "SPARE" set of 289 heads they had "sitting around collecting dust" and maybe those would be a better idea. I said ok get me a price on them, he said he would give me a "Good deal".

The following week I waited, and waited for a call, on the 289 head price, so I finally called up there late second week of February. I was told they still didn't have a price to get the 289 heads ready. The guy I was talking with before was out, and the new guy asked if he could help. I told him the situation. He said he would check on it, and call me back. He didn't.