Steering wheel shakes when braking

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2015, 12:59 PM
Rob_82
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Steering wheel shakes when braking

Hey Guys,

New to the forum Ive been crawling it for a few months I like this one so I figured I would join and add what I could

My question is I have a 2002 Excursion 5.4 2wd with 126K on it, I have been chasing a shaking steering wheel while braking at higher speeds 50 mph and up, it is stronger at higher speeds and gets weaker and eventually goes away when slowing under 45ish mph. The shake in the wheel does not pull the truck at all, you can let go and it still stops straight. I have aligned and balanced I know its right I did it myself. I have also replaced steering dampener, and have done a full brake job on the front all new parts everything. I still have the issues, anyone have any other ideas on what it could be? Also the steering linkage is tight no slop or play in it. Any tips and/or advice is greatly appreciated

Old 03-20-2015, 01:40 PM
jhcorley
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
When you did the brakes did you replace or check the rotors???

Old 03-20-2015, 01:41 PM
Apocalypse
Lead Driver
Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts
Originally Posted by jhcorley
Probably need to have the rotors checked and or pads.
Rotors are warped. Don't (if you even find someone who will offer it) get them re-surfaced/turned. Just get all new pads and rotors and be done with it. If the pads are bad it ruined the rotors, if the rotors are warped it ruined the pads. Don't go cheap, replace it all with good name brand stuff (no vato-zone parts) and be good to go! Also bleed the brakes just for the hell of it

Old 03-20-2015, 02:53 PM
Lance Helmert
Laughing Gas
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Maybe you have a broken belt in a tire. Rotate the front tires to the back. Usually if the rotors are warped the brake pedal pulses.

Old 03-20-2015, 03:03 PM
Rob_82
Junior User