Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help Pls - 2nd Battery or Larger Alt needed ?

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2015, 02:30 PM
jp petracco
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help Pls - 2nd Battery or Larger Alt needed ?

Added 6 PIAA 520s on front and 2 KC's flood on the back of my SURCO Safari rack.

Im a novice at this, but wondering if I will need to add second bat or larger alt.

03 Eddie B 6.8/V10 4x4.

Also have 1200 amps running six 5x7 Access Focal speakers, pioneer 4000NEX and 12"sub. Lights will not be on for any serious length of time 10-15mins at a time.

thoughts appreciated

JP

Old 03-14-2015, 03:21 PM
Twitchyleprechaun
Posting Guru
Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Turn radio up and all lights on while the truck is running. If you notice a drop in power, I would say you need a larger amp. If you are going to be running all these a lot when the truck is off, I would say throw another battery in there so you will be able to start it back up.

Disclaimer*** This advice is based only off of my personal experience with vehicle electronics and I do not claim to be any type of expert in the matter.

Old 03-15-2015, 07:37 AM
Vince79vette
Elder User
They have duel alts brackets for the v10s. I just pulled my system but i had 3k and another 1500 for the doors. But behind the 2nd row u can put batterys. I had 3 c&d 140s laying down almost flat behind the 2nd row

Old 03-15-2015, 10:22 AM
sessland
More Turbo
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
The two kind of go together...

A 2nd battery will give you more reserve when using the lights or stereo with the truck off.

Double alternators or a higher amp alternator will charge your batteries faster and more efficiently.

Old 03-15-2015, 07:22 PM
ExploringNH
Senior User
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I think the 520s are 85w? If so, you just added about 38 amps of draw with the engine running.