Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

86 F350 ball joint question

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2015, 09:31 AM
Joe the bartender
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
86 F350 ball joint question

I just bought my first truck and its an old monster and I love it. Taking my time to bring her back to life. The upper and lower ball joints need to be replaced. My monster is only rear wheel drive and I can only seem to locate 4wd ball joints, not wanting to buy parts more then once, will a 4wd ball joint work in mine?

Old 03-05-2015, 10:02 AM
Chevy_Eater
Logistics Pro
Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
You don't have ball joints, you have king pins.

Old 03-05-2015, 10:59 AM
Joe the bartender
New User
I purchased a Chilton handbook because I'm new to diesel, no mention of a king pin. Where would I go to find the right information on changing them correctly.

Old 03-05-2015, 04:34 PM
tecgod13
Logistics Pro
Received 120 Likes on 101 Posts
Kingpins are on the dana 60 solid axle (4x4) of that time span, but I don't know what is on the 2wd trucks. I'll assume its the same twin I-beam design that was used on the F250's which, at least in '88, looks to have ball joints from what I remember when taking that out to put a solid axle in my truck. I have the service manual in my garage at home and can take a look, but I don't know if something changed from 86-88?

BTW... Chilton is pretty useless with these trucks.

Old 03-05-2015, 08:07 PM
Chevy_Eater
Logistics Pro
Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
No, my '86 2wd has the same twin i-beam king pin front end my '69 2wd does. I know at some time they did go to ball joints, if your '88 has them that may be another change in the 8th generation trucks.

Mind you, that's on F250s', the F150's got ball joints way earlier.

Old 03-06-2015, 01:32 PM
tecgod13
Logistics Pro