Escape & Escape Hybrid Ford Escape, Ford Escape Hybrid, Mercury Mariner, Mazda Tribute

My New (to me) Escape

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2015, 07:03 PM
AG4.0
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My New (to me) Escape

I'm new to the Escape world, but I came across a deal that was too good to pass up. I found this 01 with 121k miles on it for $1500. The catch; The batterly wouldn't hold a charge, it ran like crap with an obvious misfire, a CEL and the smell of unburnt fuel out the tail pipe and a noisy power steering pump that was missing a cap and was out of fluid. It was previously in an accident and has a salvage title, but the cosmetic damage has all been repaired, save for a couple small unrelated dents and scratches. After a fluids check I hooked up my Bluetooth scan tool and found a P0135, O2 sensor code and figured that could be the culprit for it running like crap. I did not get a misfire code however.