Sponsored by:

My towing thread

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2015, 04:29 PM
andym
Post Fiend
Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts
My towing thread

As some folks know, I bought an Excursion and a 30' travel trailer recently and plan to hit the road full time in a mere couple of months, working from the RV on the road wherever I am. I'm a consultant that has the luxury of working remotely, so where I am doesn't really matter so much as long as I have a 4G signal.

This past weekend was the inaugural trip - I wanted to start getting the kinks worked out before I live in it full time. There were a few things that went wrong, but a lot of things that went right and I learned a few things too.

This thread is going to be me documenting my adventures from the towing and RV aspect of this trip. Comments, thoughts, questions, jokes, well-intentioned criticism, etc. are all welcome. I plan on documenting another aspect of this trip on another forum, but I'll save that nugget for later.

Friday afternoon when my friend and I left it was pouring rain pretty much all day. I had a brief dry spell in the morning when I was able to run out and get some stuff done but other than that I got pretty wet. The kicker was when I tried to lower the TV antenna and it wouldn't drop all the way. I had to go up on the roof in the rain, at which point I realized that I needed someone inside the RV to retract it while I guided it to where it was supposed to go. So I called her on my phone from the roof and said, "Get your butt out to the trailer right now please".

I changed my clothes after that. I was soaked to the skin.

We got 20 minutes from home and someone pulled up next to us on the freeway to let us know that the trailer had a flat tire. Wonderful. I changed it with the help of a friendly CHP officer, and we were on our way once again.