6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Looking to Buy 6.4L

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2015, 12:10 PM
rowekmr
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Looking to Buy 6.4L

I'm looking to buy a 6.4L for heavy towing and know they had some issues but was looking for a thread or sticky on what to look for to avoid problems. The only things I know of now is that I have heard they can get terrible mileage until they are deleted/tuned. I also heard with a tune they get really powerful. I have heard they had much less head gasket issues like the 6.0L but they can have EGR issues too. The ones I am looking at have over 140K and are F350 or 450 with flatbed that I will use with gooseneck to tow a car hauler not a daily driver. I have some experience with the 6.0L and those issues but found a good shop that was able to correct all its issues so I will stick with that shop for next truck. I wanted to learn as much as I need to avoid getting a money pit.
Thanks

Old 02-01-2015, 12:20 PM
CampSpringsJohn
Hotshot
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
The 6.0's and 6.4's in my opinion are good trucks if you delete them, head studs for the 6.0, and don't get too crazy with aggressive tunes.

Old 02-01-2015, 09:24 PM
RainDesert
Cargo Master
Received 34 Likes on 27 Posts
The 6.4 will be no less money pit than a 6.0 IMO. Everyone who I know that had one couldn't wait to get rid of them at some point. If I had to choose, I would go 6.0, but in reality, I would have neither anymore.

Sig- 2014 3.5EB 2"level 285/70/17 3.55. Most recent trucks: 6.7stroke, 6.7cummins, 5.4f1, 3-6.0'strokes, 5.9CRcummins, 9-7.3's, 4.6f1stick, LB7, 12v5.9, VE12v, 350v10...

Old 02-02-2015, 08:49 AM
bigblockford_390
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts