Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front suspension bottomed out? Ways to fix?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2015, 08:06 PM
Stormfinder
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Front suspension bottomed out? Ways to fix?

Hey guys, i am rather new to the super duty / Excursion world.
More familar with the OBS.

Anyways,
I did my oil change and checked out my suspension today, as its been 6000 miles since last time, and was looking for a clunking i was getting at times, Found it (sway bar link) but as i was underneath, i noticed i only have 1/2" of clearance between my front leafs and the bump stops, (probably explains my rough ride) and have been trying to research things since then.

People seem to have this problem often, and either swap to different springs, or put a lift in.

Ive looked into a spring swap, but dont really know what the difference between all of them is. (B or C, or C SRW, V or X ???) And frankly im confused.
Some people say that the truck springs are a direct swap, others say you have to add excursion spring pieces in, all contradicting.

As for a lift kit, can i use a f250 lift kit, or does it have to be a excursion kit, ive heard people say the excursion is lowered 2" compared to superdutys, so would a 4" ex lift just be a 2" superduty lift? like i said all very confusing.

Thanks for any ideas or advice guys, it means alot.

Old 01-15-2015, 09:48 PM
harley4jcs
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
For anyone to really give any meaningful advice they would need to know what you are trying or wanting to do. What are you trying to achieve ?? You are correct in this math: A S/D front 4" lift spring will be 6" LIFT on the front of your X. The back can be adjusted between block size & spring pack as required.

Old 01-15-2015, 10:39 PM
WE3ZS
World Famous Mod
Received 833 Likes on 572 Posts