2009 5.4L Cyl3 misfire

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2015, 05:58 PM
kpchambers
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2009 5.4L Cyl3 misfire

Hello everyone.

I've been chasing this misfire for about two months now. I have changed all eight plugs, changed the coil and even paid $3,300 to change head gaskets. After all of that I'm still getting a misfire on cyl3 code. I've inspected the resistance from the fuel injectors, they are all about 12ohms. What else do I need to check before I sell this thing off?

Background: It has just under 130k miles and I have had zero problems until it got cold this season. Once the mornings hit about 20F degrees I had a check engine light come on. Maybe a little bit of a shake at first but after it warms up it drives excellent. It has never sounded like there is a misfire, it has always ran smooth.

What else do I need to look for? Thanks,

KC

Old 01-09-2015, 08:12 PM
fastback89
Senior User
I chased one around for a similar problem last year. I turned out to be a bad O2 sensor of all things. I finally caught it on the scanner, it would run rough only in the morning after first startup and would shake the whole truck like it was missing, then all of the sudden it would smooth out and run fine for the rest of the day...A lot of parts were changed on this one too.

Old 01-10-2015, 01:25 AM
j.grif
Elder User
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
I would first try a bottle of techron or seafoam, I had an o6 with 5.4 and 44,000 miles would get an intermittent check engine light and engine would start funky, it was a leaking injector, just because the coil on the injector ohm's out, dosent mean that the injector is not dirty or partially plugged, ultimately, I wound up changing gas stations ant the problem went away, it sounds like you went after all the usual problems, although head gaskets are not usual on the 5.4!

Old 01-10-2015, 04:52 AM
tseekins
Super Moderator
Received 1,219 Likes on 802 Posts